BRUSSELS. — Travellers from the United States remain barred from the European Union, as it’s not on the bloc’s initial list of “safe” countries issued by EU governments yesterday.

The EU yesterday agreed to open its borders to 14 countries from July 1, but the US will remain excluded as the coronavirus epidemic in the country is still raging.

According to a statement issued by the European Council, the 14 countries are: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay.

In addition, China would be included if it reciprocated by allowing in EU travellers, said the statement.

The US currently is the world’s worst-affected country by Covid-19 with more than 129 000 deaths and 2 680 000 infections, according to latest tally from Johns Hopkins University. — CGTN.